It’s Time to Brave the Cave Once More

img_3639

The last time I went into the cave was three years ago. No, not a physical cave, but a figurative one.

In January 2014, I had just relinquished my pastoral position, and Archippus Awakening was to be the next assignment. With no idea of the next steps, I retreated into a period I termed as ‘cave time‘ to rest and reconsolidate, and more importantly, to seek the Lord. It was also a time for me to pen down my thoughts and direction as I studied more about what Archippus Awakening would be.

That was three years ago. And a lot has happened since then. [Read 2014: A Year of Baby Steps2015: A Year of Sowing, and 2016: Entering the 3rd Year with Expectation] Needless to say, it has not been easy. In fact, it has been extremely demanding and tiring! But I must quickly add that it has also been very exciting and fulfilling. The challenge, always, is to discern when I have relied on my own strength, and when I have rested in His. Without doubt, I ran very  hard in 2016. And it seems that the lanes have all been marked out for me in 2017.

But first – cave time.

Yes. For the next three months, I will be taking it a little easier. Apart from weekend ministry engagements that I have accepted (see Ministry Schedule), the weekdays will be spent reading, resting and recuperating. I have already begun doing that and I am enjoying the additional ‘space’, both in my schedule and in my mind.

This does not mean I am not working at all, for the assignment of Archippus Awakening continues (AWE2017 is up next: 17-19 Feb!). I am just taking things at a much slower pace – a slow jog, if you will.

In this mode, I get to draw and drink more deeply from the fountains of living water, reconnect with Serene and the children, enjoy coffee with friends and kingdom connections, and more critically, to be strengthened and directed for the way ahead. With a clearer mind, I also hope to write an accompanying volume to Say To Archippus, so that we can help more know and fulfil their God-given kingdom assignments.

Yes, it is time to brave the cave once more, to be willing to unplug from the buzz and the noise. Not necessarily easy or natural for one as task-oriented as I am. And yet, this is something that must be done. So, cave time, here I come!

Leave a Reply

