Pray For Those Who Are Teachers of the Word

IMG_1100

Yes, I am openly, boldly and unashamedly asking for your prayers.

Not that I am not aware of the immense responsibility that teachers bear but the weight and severity hit me this week as I prepared to preach a message entitled, “Keys of the Kingdom”. It dawned upon me afresh that teachers of the Word can actually make it or break it for believers.

Consider Jesus’ extremely strong words for the bible study leaders of His day. To these experts of the law, He said, “Woe to you lawyers! For you have taken away the key of knowledge. You did not enter in yourselves, and those who were entering in you hindered.” (Luke 11:42) What we teach matters.

In this case, these teachers prevented people (God’s people, no less) from entering into all God has for them. That said, this does not mean that we simply leave the door wide open for anyone. Keys do not only open doors, they shut them too! Today’s messages of love, grace and freedom are indeed welcoming, even if these are taught at the expense of holiness, righteousness and faithfulness. If we would carefully observe the whole counsel of God through His Word, we would see many instances where believers are warned of being shut out and not being able to inherit the kingdom of God. But no one likes to teach these things! For one, it’s not easy to declare such truths; and for another, you won’t be very popular.

As I delivered the message last night, I kept reminding myself, “Stay close to the Word. Preach from the text. Refer to the words of Jesus.” It’s not about my opinion at all. I want to teach from the Word and allow the Holy Spirit to convict hearts. One might argue that it is a matter of interpretation and it’d be hard to fault that challenge. However, that does not solve anything at all. The question is still, “Which teacher has the interpretation that is closest to the heart of the King and His Kingdom?” Did I teach accurately or inaccurately? Did I represent my King and Master adequately, or not? Once again, what we teach matters; especially when it concerns matters of eternal significance.

So, please pray for me, and for all who teach the Word of God. It is an awesome privilege that carries with it a tremendous responsibility. Thank you.

“My brethren, let not many of you become teachers,
knowing that we shall receive a stricter judgment.” James 3:1

 

One thought on “Pray For Those Who Are Teachers of the Word

Leave a Reply

