Houses for the People of Tanauan Leyte: Pray for My Trip 20-24 March 2014

This simple drawing was what Ptr Joel started with, plus a heart full of love and compassion for the people of Tanauan Leyte:

Proposed House Model TanauanEach house costs about Php82,000 (material & labour), just under S$2,500, and takes about 12 days to build. The plan is to construct at least 20 such houses this year. These are not limited to Ptr Joel’s church members only but will be extended to others in need too, whether Christians or not. In his own words, “My goal with this project is to provide decent homes for my members and also reach the unbelievers who lost their homes. And disciple them to become Christians.”

Since connecting with Ptr Joel in January, we have communicated very well. By God’s grace, people have also responded to this initiative. To date, four houses are being built and work has just begun on the 5th house. See how one simple drawing that the Lord gave to Ptr Joel has translated into new homes for families there. Praise the Lord!

1922435_834082139941280_118867585_n
The very first house completed!
1924995_836344459715048_2141998339_n
The second house making great progress.
1656157_826931187323042_1357068619_n
The third house taking shape.
1621824_836346276381533_800045995_n
The fourth house that will soon replace the shelter within.

I will be making a trip to Tanauan Leyte next week over the weekend of 22-23 March. The plan is to visit the families and to view the houses. I will also worship at Ptr Joel’s church, Jesus Our Refuge Church, on Sunday. I hope to be able to provide a more comprehensive and detailed report when I return on Monday 24 March. Covet your prayers as we fly to Manila (20-21 March) and then to Tacloban. It’s my very first time there and I am so thankful that the Lord has led three brothers to join me so I won’t have to travel alone. Thank you for praying!!!

My prayer is that more will be moved to contribute to this project so that more families can be blessed and experience the love of Jesus. If the Lord is touching your heart and moving you to respond, let me know please! Every dollar counts. Although some have given enough for one house, some have also contributed according to what they are comfortable with. I simply pool the funds and when the amount is sufficient for one house, I inform Ptr Joel and he nominates the family. It’s that simple 🙂 Thank you for reading and for prayerfully considering. God bless you!

If you’d like to partner me to contribute to this re-building initiative to bless the people of Tanauan Leyte, please email me at brohenson@gmail.comIf you know of others who might like to participate, please feel free to share this post with them via email, Facebook or Twitter. My request is that they let me know how and through whom they came to know of this so I have an idea of the source of referral.

Thanks for your support and co-labour in the work of the ministry so that together we can do more to bring hope to the people of Tanauan Leyte in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ!

NOTE: This project is strictly undertaken on a personal basis and not affiliated to any church, ministry or organisation hence funds will be directed to my personal account. As such, if you are not comfortable with that, it is perfectly ok. I will do my best to provide information and details, and to remain accountable to those who are led to contribute to this cause. Thank you.

Updates:
House for the People of Tanauan Leyte
Houses for the People of Tanauan Leyte: Building Starts Tomorrow
Houses for the People of Tanauan Leyte: Building in Progress

4 thoughts on “Houses for the People of Tanauan Leyte: Pray for My Trip 20-24 March 2014

  1. Hi Rev Henson will pray for your trip. Time is so swift. I have been in India for over a month. It is so enriching. Harvest is really plentiful. Labourers are few. Tks Reg for praying for me. Amara

Leave a Reply

