It’s My Cave Time and I’m So Enjoying It!

March

Today is the 1st of March. For one, it’s my dad’s birthday … Happy Birthday, Dad! For another, it’s my alma mater’s Founder’s Day … Happy Founder’s Day, ACS!

But more significantly, it’s a new month and a reminder that I have just one and a half months more to write my ministry manifesto. If you have been following my posts, I have given myself a deadline of 15 April to produce the very first draft. I chose 15 April because that is the date of the very first blood moon of the tetrad that is to come. It is a reminder of the urgency of the times and that we really have no luxury to be doing business or church as usual.

So how have I been doing? By the grace of God and His enablement, I have made considerable progress. That said, it has not been an easy journey at all. I have discovered that staring at a computer screen for many hours is very tiring and straining. It’s even worse when the mind is tired and the putting down of thoughts become very tough. I have literally struggled and wrestled to write one or two sentences. In between the times of typing away, there are ministry engagements to fulfil, a School of Ministry to run and daddy duties to carry out. Yes, life goes on.

I have called this season my cave time. Symbolically, that means I withdraw from as many activities as possible so that I can concentrate on what I need to do. My wife and children know that when I am in my room and at my desk, they allow me the space to write or pray. That does not mean I totally disappear from the face of the earth, or from Facebook – haha! It’s really funny (and irritating, I must admit) how some have read my Facebook posts and remarked that if I am to be in the cave then I should not be seen to be having fun and fellowship with others. Some may feel that I should not even be wasting time writing this post. In case these have forgotten, it’s my cave time and I get to determine when I hibernate and when I ventilate – thank you very much 🙂

Yes, this cave time is not an easy season given my own impatience. Waiting has never been my strong point but this has forced me to rest in the Lord and to allow Him full reign and rein in my life and ministry. Oddly, as much as I want this to move a lot faster, I am really enjoying my time in the cave. It may be a time of rest but that does not mean that I am not working. The wonderful thing is that as I do what I sense God has led me to do, He is bringing divine connections and still moving things according to His purposes and timing. Whether I am holed up in my room or having a coffee catch up with a brother or sister in Christ, His sovereign plan is unfolding and I am moving right along with Him. I don’t really know what is up ahead for me but I know it’s going to be good. I still have many questions that are unanswered; and yet, I have confidence that these will somehow work themselves out in His time. I have learnt that God does not have to answer all or any of our questions. It’s more important to hear what God is asking and how He is directing. Along the way, what has been most encouraging is that the Lord has raised people to pray for me and with me. This is totally awesome and I so love these brothers and sisters in Christ!

So what’s going to happen after this draft is done? Well …. I don’t really know 🙂 I am exploring a few possibilities but only God knows how these will turn out. My objectives remain clear. As I write this manifesto, it forces me to pray, to seek Him, to think through and to structure the points more clearly and precisely. In time, this vision can be shared with others. I know that some will disregard or ignore it; but there will also be those who will identify with it to run with me. How and when that happens, I have no idea 🙂

But until that happens, it’s back to the cave.

Leave a Reply

