Houses for the People of Tanauan Leyte: Building in Progress

Since my last post update, Houses for the People of Tanauan Leyte: Building Starts Tomorrow, Ptr Joel has sent me some pictures of the building work. As I reviewed the pictures, my heart leapt with excitement to be a part of this rebuilding exercise for those affected by Typhoon Yolanda/Haiyan.

I thank God for prompting me not to rush but to wait and to work directly with the locals. As I wrote in my initial post, Houses for the People of Tanauan Leyte, “Somehow, I was not moved to contribute. Deep within me, I knew that regardless these there would still be pockets of locals who would have to wait for quite a while before anything reaches them – if at all. It was clear to me not to begin anything but to wait for the media and publicity frenzy to abate. As with most major catastrophes, people are stirred for a moment and then promptly forget as the next big thing unfolds. But the rebuilding of lives and homes takes more than a few weeks; it would take years.” An article in The Straits Times on Wednesday 5 Feb 2014, confirmed this, “Nearly three months after the storm hit on Nov 8, this once thriving university town and provincial capital shows relatively few signs of economic recovery despite an international rescue effort.”

Through God’s divine connections, I have made a new friend in Ptr Joel and we are communicating well and moving forward together in the rebuilding project for the people of Tanauan Leyte. Other than this first house, two more houses have been pledged, bringing the total to three houses so far. The target is 20 houses. I am really looking forward to making the trip to Tacloban-Tanauan Leyte on the weekend of 20-24 March. The air tickets and hotel accommodation have all been booked. God willing, I will get to see the houses and also meet the families. It will also be a wonderful experience worshipping with brothers and sisters in Christ that weekend too!

Thank you so much for your prayers and support! Truly, nothing compares to being God’s instrument of blessing that more may know of His love and grace through Jesus Christ!

If you’d like to partner me to contribute to this re-building initiative to bless the people of Tanauan Leyte, please email me at brohenson@gmail.com. Please do not send funds yet as all I require at this point is an indication of interest (amount, number of house/s @ S$2,500 each, etc). I will get in touch with you after my visit to Tanauan. If you know of others who might like to participate, please feel free to share this post with them via email, Facebook or Twitter. My request is that they let me know how and through whom they came to know of this so I have an idea of the source of referral.

Thanks for your support and co-labour in the work of the ministry so that together we can do more to bring hope to the people of Tanauan Leyte in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ!

NOTE: This project is strictly undertaken on a personal basis and not affiliated to any church, ministry or organisation hence funds will be directed to my personal account. As such, if you are not comfortable with that, it is perfectly ok. I will do my best to provide information and details, and to remain accountable to those who are led to contribute to this cause. Thank you.

6 thoughts on “Houses for the People of Tanauan Leyte: Building in Progress

Leave a Reply

