Reviewing The Year Through My Facebook Posts

IMG_6894

Jesus says that out of the abundance of the heart, the mouth will speak (Matt 12:34). In our age of social media, we could say that out of the abundance of our hearts, we will tweet, or post.

As 2013 draws to a close, I thought it’d be an interesting exercise to review my posts through the year to see what resonated most in my heart. Unlike the Year In Review generated by Facebook based on posts which garnered the most likes, here are some of my personal favourites with a little commentary of what prompted each post.

You can’t love Jesus and not move forward! This was the challenge I issued to the congregation based on our church’s theme and process. Too many declare their love for Jesus but never move from that at all. Jesus said, “If you love me, you will obey me.” And that means doing all He tells us to do.

I’m on cloud nine! My wife said that I preached a good message this morning *beam* Others may tell me that I preached well. But when Serene tells me that, it makes all the difference!

This morning’s message convicted a sister to be baptized regardless being only believer in family. Love it when people respond to the Word! This is every preacher’s desire – when people are convicted by the message and are moved to act on it.

Biblical declarations may sound positive. But without Christ, it’s just another motivational chant and you’re still relying on yourself. This has become such a concern. Christians sure know how to talk Christian, but are they necessarily living a life in Christ? Unfortunately, a trial or crisis usually reveals otherwise.

You can learn from others’ experiences. But what you need to experience personally, only you can experience. No one can experience it for you. At the end of the day, it’s a walk that only you can walk.

After the Transformers ride… Me: “Deborah, you were so brave!!” Deborah: “Do you know why I am brave? Because God is with me. Love these chats with my 6 year old.

Don’t serve because pastor says so. Nor serve because it makes you feel better about yourself. Serve because you love Jesus. Always good to challenge ourselves to know why or whom we serve.

Singlish faith: Ok God, you say one ah! I really love this one! Only Singaporeans can identify with this phrase and how to say it correctly – haha! This is something I say to the Lord often, in Singlish, of course.

The question is not “Is God speaking?” but “Are we listening?I posted this after a series of instructions and affirmations from the Lord. Totally overwhelmed by how clearly He spoke!

It may seem insignificant but that little act of obedience, your response by faith, is what opens the door to all that God has already prepared for you. Believing this for myself. Now, to run through the opened door.

Before faith can be victorious, it must be courageous. Preached “Victorious Faith” and was reminded that at times, it is courageous faith that leads us to victorious faith! Amen!

In our relationship with God, we mustn’t have a contractual but a covenantal mindset. The former is based on terms whilst the latter, trust. Really love this revelation by the Spirit. Stop bargaining with God, presenting your terms or demanding your entitlements. Just trust Him and serve Him. He knows best.

Just dawned on me: God could raise any one of these to become the next Graham, Moody or Spurgeon; and I would have played a small part in speaking into their lives! Yes, Lord! After preaching at a youth camp, I realised my little contribution could be used by God to raise a new generation of preachers and leaders. Wow! Sure bowled me over.

A walk with Jesus not only helps you celebrate coincidences as divine but also to understand them as sovereign checkpoints towards all He has planned for you. Looking back, it is truly amazing how the Lord has led me thus far. Everything falls in place when seen from His perspective. I’m so looking forward to the next leg of the journey in 2014.

Meaningful that the 9 of us spent tonight reviewing 2013 & committing our desires for 2014 to the Lord. Our family held a Thanksgiving & Consecration Service on 29 Dec as prompted by the Lord in the spirit of Joshua 1:11 that “within three days you will cross over this Jordan, to go in to possess the land which the Lord your God is giving you to possess.”

Indeed, It’s been a very challenging but interesting year. Yet, all through, the Lord has been with me, sustaining and enabling me by His grace. I don’t really know what to expect in 2014. All I know is that I have a word from the Lord and I will be holding on to that for dear life. For, if the Lord has spoken, then surely He is faithful to bring it to pass. We may face uncertainties and challenges along the way, but we can rest assured that His presence goes with us. Nothing will rock our conviction nor distract us from the call. In the words of Joshua 24:15, “As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord!”

IMG_6895

PS: As always, my prayer is that the Lord will use these posts to bless, encourage and even provoke you. For more of my rambling thoughts (revelations?), check out Quotable Quotes. Feel free to share these with others, but please remember to credit http://www.brohenson.org. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

