Growing in Righteousness: “Lord, It’s Too Big!”

This afternoon’s topic was “The Righteousness of God”. As usual, the student team will present and then take questions from the class. Then, the session would be handed to me to summarise, drawing from the discussion that had taken place and then to provide some concluding remarks and key points pertaining to the topic.

In addressing to issue of growing in righteousness, I proceeded to share with the class what the Lord showed me back in 2007 when I was preparing for the School’s very first Encounter Weekend, “Hunger & Thirst for His Righteousness”.

In the vision (actually, it was more like an impression in my mind), the Lord placed a very beautiful robe over me. It was bright, radiant and glorious. Somehow, I knew it was the robe of righteousness, the Righteousness of Jesus Christ that was being placed upon me. Yet, as beautiful as it was, I found myself saying, “Lord, it’s too big!” I could feel the Lord smile as He responded and said the following words to me, “Grow into it.”

Indeed, we have received the Righteousness of Jesus as a gift when we placed our faith in Him and are presented righteous before God. But, so many have taken this to mean that there is nothing we need do anymore, that a life of sin is permitted and overlooked by God because of this imputed righteousness by grace. These cannot be more wrong or deceived! The Bible speaks of works of righteousness that are now required of us, that the fruit of righteousness might be borne in us, that we might thus qualify for the crown of righteousness to placed upon us.

I will never forget the picture the Lord showed me. I will treasure it for all time because it serves as a clear reminder and an inspiration to me as I serve Jesus, seeking His Kingdom and His righteousness.

As I closed the session in prayer, I couldn’t find the words to express my thanks and gratitude at all. I was simply too overwhelmed and awed by God’s love and grace, bestowing upon us His righteousness that we may be able to enjoy relationship and communion with Him in Christ.

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness
I dare not trust the sweetest frame
But wholly trust in Jesus’ Name

Leave a Reply

