Another Personal Response to the City Harvest Case: Not Every View Needs To Be Shared On Social Media

When the City Harvest Case was first made public in June 2012, I felt it necessary to provide A Personal Response to the City Harvest Case. Not only did it help others process their own thoughts, it helped me think more clearly on the matter too.

This morning, a 3min video clip* of Pastor Kong Hee’s latest sermon appeared on my Facebook wall. When I clicked on the YouTube link, it had already garnered more than 16,000 views. Within that 3mins of watching it, this link* was further shared on Facebook by a few more friends — along with their comments. I won’t be wrong to assume that viewership would have increased a lot more before the day is over.

Admittedly, I too was tempted to jump onto the bandwagon. It was all too easy to click the SHARE button and then to offer my point of view. I must say it wasn’t easy to withhold that urge.

Indeed, I have my own theological views and comments but this is not the place for it.

Instead, I am praying that Christians (in particular) will stop posting and sharing this video*. It serves no purpose and does not edify at all! If pastors and leaders would like to educate and explain to their flock – and they should – there are better forums to do so instead of over social media. This is a church matter and should be appropriately dealt with and addressed within the church and not in an open, public platform!

If we have anything to say or comment, would it not be better to post it on God’s Wall through prayer? He is the only One who can verify if He really said what Pastor Kong said that He said 🙂

*If you are looking for the title and link to this video, you won’t find it here 🙂 If not, I would be indirectly posting and sharing it too.

One thought on “Another Personal Response to the City Harvest Case: Not Every View Needs To Be Shared On Social Media

Leave a Reply

