Bearing Fruit In Old Age

Dad Testimony

I took this picture of my father when he came forward to share at the end of Covenant Vision Christian Church‘s (CVCC) Camp 2013 on 5 June.

As I thought about how he has journeyed in his spiritual walk, I was reminded of another post that was published back in 2009. In “The Fulfilment of a Vision“, I shared how the Lord had shown me earlier that my father would respond to an altar call and this was fulfilled on 19 April 2009. In that post, I wrote, “I strongly believe that God has begun a new work in Dad’s life, and we will see new things in the days ahead.”

Since then, Dad has enrolled for Covenant Vision School of Ministry and subsequently completed the Certificate in Practical Christian Ministry. The following year, he served as Camp Chairman for CVCC’s very first church camp, Kingdom Alive!, in Batam. It wasn’t all that smooth sailing and Dad encountered a few hard knocks as he experienced church life and ministry afresh. Then, early last year, he discovered he had prostate cancer. By God’s grace, he was led to South Korea where he received Proton Therapy treatment. Through this episode, Dad drew so much closer to the Lord and returned with renewed fervour and passion!

At the camp, my father led morning devotions and facilitated a discussion group. Having invited three of his friends to camp, he also played host to ensure they were well looked after and having a good time. To top it off, he participated in the talent show, teaming up with his grandson, David. Together, they shared my father’s testimony in song and performed that original piece, outfitted in wigs and togs in keeping with the 70s theme! All this, at a hale and hearty age of 73!

That said, I should be quite used to it, having seen him always on the go for as long as I can remember, ever since I was a little boy. And yet, something’s different this time 🙂 Truly, the promise in Psalm 92:12-15 describes it so well:

“The righteous shall flourish like a palm tree
He shall grow like a cedar in Lebanon.
Those who are planted in the house of the Lord
Shall flourish in the courts of our God.
They shall bear fruit in old age;
They shall be fresh and flourishing,
To declare that the Lord is upright;
He is my rock, and there is no unrighteousness in Him.”

One thought on “Bearing Fruit In Old Age

Leave a Reply

