How Do You Spell Love

I received this tweet from getupwithgod.com yesterday and it brought a smile to my face.  I retweeted it but thought it’d be nice to reproduce it here so others can be blessed too.

Here is a verbatim transcript of the vast majority of my conversations at work these days . . .

Me (speeding down the hall, usually late for something): “Hi, how are you?”
Co-worker (sighing and looking deeply depressed): ”Terrible. You?”
Me: “Great! Have a great day!”

Seems like every week I crank the speed up another notch or two and my interactions with people become more and more superficial.  Thankfully, I have the world’s greatest mother-in-law.  She has an uncanny knack for reaching out to me and whacking me over the head with godly wisdom exactly when I need it. Here’s a conversation she and I have quite frequently . . .

Her: How do you spell love?
Me: Is that a trick question?
Her: T-i-m-e.  Slow down and spend it wisely.

That usually stops me dead in my tracks, at least for a few seconds. When I think about how little time I spend with the people around me in a truly meaningful way, it makes my heart hurt.

Here’s a challenge for all of us this week. People are struggling all around us.  Slow down and take the t-i-m-e to truly connect with the people God has put in your life.  Listen to them, comfort them, love them.

TAKE TIME TO LOVE.

2 thoughts on “How Do You Spell Love

  1. What a timely (no pun intended…) reminder..!

    I just got home from working since 7am this morning… that’s 14hrs away from my family… and some stuff happened at home… and I was not there for my younger daughter… felt like the worst mom on earth…

    1. I know how you feel 🙂 That’s why I can’t write entries like these – makes me feel like a total hypocrite! Still, it’s a great reminder to keep us on track, and to constantly remember what is most important in our lives. Then again, there are those who swing to the other extreme – but that’s an entirely different issue for another blog post … 🙂

Leave a Reply

