The Bride of Christ

This point hit me this morning when Dr Bruce Allen preached at Covenant Vision Christian Church and I’m going to write something about it before I forget.

He commented that the Body of Christ is not necessarily the Bride of Christ.  Wham!  That spoke straight into my heart!  He explained that in Gen 2:21, Eve, the bride of Adam (a type of Christ), was brought out from his side.  In the same way, Jesus (the second and last Adam) will receive His bride … those who walk closely with Him, by His side.  In Gen 24, when Abram sent his servant to select a bride for Isaac, it was to be from his people.  However, Eliezer didn’t return with the whole family, but only the bride in Rebekah.  Similarly, the Bride of Christ will be selected from God’s people, His family.

Dr Allen went on to say that for too long the church has been taught that they are the bride of Christ; that as long as you are in the Body of Christ, you will be received as the Bride of Christ.  Not true, he challenges!  After all, Jesus is coming for His bride, a glorious church without spot or blemish (Eph 5:27); and these will be made up of those who live passionately for Him, who yearn for and strive towards maturity in the stature of the fullness of Christ (Eph 4:13).

Am I in the Body of Christ?  Yes.  Will I be counted among those who will make up the Bride of Christ?  I don’t know!  That is not for me to determine, but the Lord Himself.  Do I then live in fear each day, wondering if I will be one of the selected?  Not at all!  If I did, can you imagine what kind of relationship that would be then?  That would be terrible!  Instead, my part is to love Jesus, the Bridegroom, and to obey His every bidding, with a desire is to be changed by the Holy Spirit and to be led by Him.  To be sure, there is no place for mediocre Christianity in these final days.

I am certain there will be some who may disagree and even challenge this understanding about the Body and the Bride of Christ.  I believe this is a prophetic word, and such are to be received in the Spirit who gives wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.  Let him who has an ear, let him hear, that he may have discernment to know how to respond.

2 thoughts on “The Bride of Christ

  1. Yes, and very sad & scary to think that not all in the church are truly saved! That’s what Jesus meant when He said in Matthew 7:21 – 23 –

    “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father who is in heaven will enter.
    22 Many will say to Me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in Your name, and in Your name cast out demons, and in Your name perform many miracles?’
    23″And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; DEPART FROM ME, YOU WHO PRACTICE LAWLESSNESS.’

Leave a Reply

