The Person I Admire Most

Yesterday, Serene, my wife, walked in to church with Anna in the baby sling and the 3 younger children around her.  She had just driven to church by herself, parked the car and made her way to CVCC.  During the church service, Serene attended to Anna, just one month old.  At the same time, she watched over Deborah, Ruth, Esther and Aaron.  I could only watch and observe from the stage as I was involved in the worship team and was also the MC.  Then Snr Pastor invited Serene up on stage with Anna Joy so that he can pray for our little baby.  As she made her way up, something welled up inside of me.

After the service, I stayed on in the sanctuary for a while longer.  When I got downstairs, Serene was busy with the children, getting food for them.  They were all seated and eating by themselves.  Serene had to nurse Anna and then carry her while she slept in the sling.  Through all that, my dear wife had to eat with one hand and still hold conversations with everyone.  Wow!

Later in the evening, I went ahead to the restaurant with the older 3 children.  Serene arrived later with the other 4, carrying Anna and wheeling Deborah in the stroller, with Ruth and Esther walking by themselves.  Right throughout dinner, Serene looked after Deborah and Ruth, ensuring they ate properly.  And when baby Anna began to fuss, she promptly picked her up, nursed her and settled her without even missing a beat.

When we got home, we bathed and changed the children quickly since it was quite late already.  It was about 9:30pm when we said our bedtime prayers with them and packed them off to bed.  Job done, I felt the last ounce of energy leaving me as I plonked myself on the sofa beside Serene.  And what was she doing?  Nursing Anna.

I looked at her and that same feeling came into my heart again.  I found myself thanking her for everything before making my way up to crash out on the bed.  I don’t know what time she finished nursing Anna, or when Anna finally slept so that Serene could rest.

This morning, I realised what it was that stirred deep in my heart.  More than appreciation … more than gratitude … it was deep admiration.

“Her children rise up and call her blessed; Her husband also, and he praises her: ‘Many daughters have done well, but you excel them all.'” Proverbs 31:28,29

One thought on “The Person I Admire Most

  1. This is the spirit of strength that both of you need from the Lord. It is not by might and not by power but by the spirit of the Lord. You will see the grace of His strength in days ahead while you both go about the Father’s business and raising up the family. A pastor is a shepherd to His sheeps likewise a Father a shepherd to his family. Truly you both can do all things through Christ who strengthen you and excel in it so that men will see that it is the Lord’s doing and it is marveloues in our eyes.

Leave a Reply

