All I Am Is Yours

We had our Good Friday Service at Covenant Vision Christian Church yesterday.  Ps George, our Worship Pastor, asked me to lead the first song, The Stand, immediately after the screening of the introductory video clip.

The service began at 10am with the short video clip.  The images of Jesus dying upon the Cross were provoking.  At the climax, the lightning flashed and the thunder clapped as the clip faded to black.  It was time for me to sing.

As we got to the chorus, the significance of the lyrics hit me.

So I’ll stand, with arms high and heart abandoned
In awe of the One who gave it all
I’ll stand, my soul Lord to You surrendered
All I am is Yours

I felt led to repeat the last line … all I am is Yours, all I am is Yours!  It became for me, a re-commitment to give everything to Jesus, again.  I couldn’t hold it back any longer.  I choked as tears rolled down my eyes.  Trembling and trying to regain composure, all I could manage was to whimper the next lines …

So what can I say?
And what could I do?
But offer this heart O God
Completely to You

How easy it is to say that I will surrender all to Jesus.  To do it is an entirely different matter.  Have I yielded all?  My wife?  My children?  My ministry?  My agendas and ambitions?

All I am is Yours … all I am is Yours.

2 thoughts on “All I Am Is Yours

Leave a Reply

